The University of Utah’s student branch of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) received this year’s Outstanding Large Student Branch Award for Utah as well as the Outstanding Student Chapter from the Northeast Area of Region 6 of the IEEE. The region includes Utah, Montana, Wyoming and part of Idaho.

The branch was chosen by the IEEE Utah Section Executive Committee, and the students will be recognized at the IEEE Utah Section Annual Awards Banquet to be held next year. The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers is the largest professional organization for the advancement of technological innovation. The IEEE Student Branch Awards were created to honor the volunteer work of student members who put on and promote special projects, activities, and field trips.

The officers for the University of Utah’s branch are: Josh Smith, chair; Tannu Sharma, vice chair; Katie Furse, secretary; Zach Wach, officer-at-large; and Peter Hillyard, treasurer.