The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) bestows its highest honor to Dean Richard B. Brown; Chris Johnson, director of the Scientific Computing and Imaging Institute; and Ross T. Whitaker, SCI professor of computer science. In naming these College of Engineering faculty members as 2014 IEEE Fellows, the association commends each for achievements that help advance technology for humanity.

The IEEE Board of Directors recognized Brown for his outstanding contributions to microsystem design. Johnson was commended for his leadership in scientific computing and scientific visualization; Whitaker was noted for contributions to image and geometry processing, visualization and medical image analysis.

Effective Jan. 1 2014, the IEEE Fellow is the association’s premier membership grade and the annual selection of honorees is confined to less than one percent of the total voting membership. Technical professionals worldwide widely recognize IEEE Fellow as a prestigious career achievement.

Read more about the IEEE Fellow Program
See complete list of 2014 Fellow Class of 2014